Tools overview

Here is a nonexhaustive list of the programs included in MyCGR, with the main functionalities of each one.

Manipulating sequences

mycgr_seq.x is used to

  • generate i.i.d. or markovian sequences, according to a law and a length given in parameters,
  • compute empirical frequences of nucleotides in a sequence,
  • cut a sequence in several sub-sequences of a given length.
Computing the CGR

mycgr_square.x perform various computations on the points of the CGR in the square:

  • compute and display the coordinates of the points in the CGR, from a given sequence,
  • count the points of the CGR in various given zones, from a given sequence,
  • compute various test statistics.

Various options modify the behavior of the program, for example to use already existing sequences to make the tests rather than to regenerate sequences for each simulation. This option allows to compare the various tests by applying them to the same sequences. One can also indicate parameters for the cache in order to optimize computations in some cases. The programs mycgr_segment.x and mycgr_tetra.x offer the same functionalities for the points of the CGR on the segment and in the tetrahedron.

Distances

mycgr_square_dist.x implements the computation of the distances between sequences, by generalizing in the CGR the dinucleotide-relative abundance profile. There are several options for the computation of these distances, in particular one can choose to compute the absolute values or the squares of the differences. Moreover, one can possibly gather the distances by species. The results can be generated in the formats Graphviz, Newick [1], PHYLIP, LaTeX. Computations on several hundreds of long sequences and for partitions composed of many zones take time. To solve this problem, the program can launch them in parallel on several machines by placing all the files on a shared file system (NFS for example). The cluster of the INRIA Rocquencourt was thus used to divide by 15 the time taken by long computations. A database can also be used to store intermediate results more effectively. The programs mycgr_segment_dist.x and mycgr_tetra_dist.x offer the same functionalities for the CGR on the segment and in the tetrahedron.

Drawing

mycgr_square_draw.x draws the CGR in the square. It reads the coordinates of points to draw on its standard input (these coordinates are generated by the program mycgr_square.x). Various options allow to:

  • display a grid on a given size,
  • draw a partition defined in a given file,
  • show the construction of points with arrows,
  • hide coordinates and/or letters corresponding to the corners,
  • display, instead of points, the frequencies of points in sub-squares of a given size. The color of each sub-square is darker when the frequency is higher.

The generated files are in PostScript of Embedded-PostScript format.

Tests of the structure of sequences

mycgr_square_test_markov.x is used to empirically evaluate the level and power of the tests of markovian structure of order m. In parameter, one can choose the number of experiments, the partitions, the lengths and the types (i.i.d., Markovian, Markovian mixed) of sequences that one wants to test. One can also make these simulations with the method of Bonferroni [2]. The results are generated in the LaTeX format. The equivalent programs exist for the CGR on the segment (mycgr_segment_test_markov.x) and in the tetrahedron (mycgr_tetra_test_markov.x).

mycgr_square_vn.x empirically evaluates the level and power of the independence test, by chosing the number of experiments, the partitions, the lengths and the type (i.i.d., Markovian, Markovian mixed) of the sequences to test. The equivalent programs exist for the CGR on the segment (mycgr_segment_vn.x) and in the tetrahedron (mycgr_tetra_vn.x).

Construction of zones and partitions

mycgr_square_zones.x generates files of zones or partitions on the unit square. This can be zones corresponding to words or to regular or random subdivisions of the square. One can also generate random rectangles and circles. It is also possible, to make a partition, to define one of the zones as the complementary of the others. At last, it is also possible to define a partition by cutting out the square regularly or randomly in a multitude of zones and then grouping them in N sets, possibly in a nonequiprobable way. The equivalent programs exist for the CGR on the segment (mycgr_segment_zones.x) and in the tetrahedron (mycgr_tetra_zones.x).

Coherent use, naming convention

Because of the many experiments made on various sizes of sequences with various zones and various methods to compute the distances, some naming conventions for the files became necessary. All the files are thus placed in a tree structure of directories whose root (meta_root) is a parameter of compilation. Then the files are oganized in the following way:
meta_root/sequences contains the orginial sequences.
meta_root/size contains the sequences of size size isolated from orginial sequences.
meta_root/cache contains the cache files.
meta_root/zones/segment contains the files of partitions on the segment.
meta_root/zones/square contains the files of partitions in the square.
meta_root/zones/tetra contains the files of partitions in the tetrahedron.
meta_root/results/size/dists contains the files of results of distances computations with sequences of size size. In this directory, the names of the files follow a naming convention to indicate the method used to compute the distances, the partition file used, whether the reversed complementary sequence was appended to sequences, and if the CGR was on the segment, in the square or in the tetrahedron.

The program mycgr_meta.x is used to launch the other MyCGR tools with the correct options and filenames to respect the naming conventions. This simplifies the commands to use the tools and place the results files in the correct directories.

mycgr.x is a graphical interface to access to the main functionalities of the other tools while respecting the naming conventions of the files:

  • handling of original sequences and extraction of smaller sequences to use them in simulations,
  • display of the CGR in the square for a given sequence, or a given partition file; one can also merge the two representations and then visualize the frequency of points in the zones of a partition. The user can save the resulting image in a file.
  • handling of the files of zones defined for the segment, the square and the tetrahedron,
  • browsing of the results already obtained and display each file with the appropriate tool (which can be parameterized),
  • computation of distances between species, for a given length of sequence and other parameters.

Click on the images to enlarge these screenshots of mycgr.x:

MyCGR screenshotMyCGR screenshot
[1] In particular, this is the format in input of the program NJPLOT used to draw the unrooted trees.
[2] Y. Baraud, S. Huet, et B. Laurent. Adaptive tests of linear hypotheses by model selection. Ann. Statist., 31(1) :225251, 2003. ISSN 0090-5364.C

Aperçu des programmes

Voici une liste des principaux programmes inclus dans MyCGR, avec pour chacun leurs fonctionnalités principales.

Manipulation de séquences

mycgr_seq.x permet de

  • générer des séquences i.i.d. ou markoviennes, selon une loi et une longueur données en paramètre,
  • calculer les fréquences empiriques des nucléotides dans une séquence,
  • découper une sequence en plusieurs sous-séquences d'une longueur inférieure donnée.
Calcul de la CGR

mycgr_square.x effectue différents calculs sur les points Xn de la CGR dans le carré:

  • calcul et affichage des coordonnées des points de la CGR, à partir d'une séquence donnée,
  • comptage des points de la CGR dans différentes zones indiquées en paramètre, à partir d'une séquence donnée,
  • calcul des différentes statistiques de tests.

Différentes options permettent de modifier le comportement du programme, par exemple en prenant des séquences déjà existantes pour faire les tests plutôt qu'en regénérer à chaque simulation. Cette option permet de comparer les différents tests en les appliquants aux mêmes séquences. On peut également indiquer des paramètres pour le cache afin d'optimiser les calculs dans certains cas. Les programmes mycgr_segment.x et mycgr_tetra.x offrent les mêmes fonctionnalités pour les points de la CGR sur le segment et dans le tétraèdre.

Distances

mycgr_square_dist.x implémente le calcul des distances entre séquences, par la généralisation dans la CGR du profil d'abondance relative de dinucléotides. Il existe plusieurs options pour le calcul de ces distances, en particulier on peut choisir de calculer les valeurs absolues ou les carrés des différences. De plus, on peut éventuellement regrouper les distances par espèces. Les résultats peuvent être générés aux formats Graphviz, Newick [1], PHYLIP, LaTeX. Les calculs sur plusieurs centaines de longues séquences et pour des partitions comportant de nombreuses zones prennent du temps. Pour pallier à ce problème, le programme peut les lancer en parallèle sur plusieurs machines en plaçant tous les fichiers sur un système de fichiers commun (NFS par exemple). Le cluster de l'INRIA Rocquencourt a ainsi été utilisé pour divisé par 15 les temps des longs calculs. Une base de données peut également être utilisée pour stocker plus efficacement les calculs intermédiaires. Les programmes mycgr_segment_dist.x et mycgr_tetra_dist.x offrent les mêmes services pour la CGR sur le segment et dans le tétraèdre.

Dessin

mycgr_square_draw.x dessine la CGR dans le carré. Il lit les coordonnées des points à dessiner sur son entrée standard (ces coordonnées sont générées par le programme mycgr_square.x). Plusieurs options permettent:

  • d'afficher une grille de taille donnée,
  • de dessiner une partition décrite dans un fichier en paramètre,
  • de montrer la construction des points avec des flèches,
  • de cacher les coordonnées et/ou les lettres correspondants aux coins,
  • d'afficher, plutôt que les points, les fréquences de points dans des sous-carrés de taille donnée. La couleur des sous-carrés est d'autant plus foncée que la fréquence des points y est élevée.

Les fichiers générés sont au format PostScript ou Embedded-PostScript.

Tests de structure de séquences

mycgr_square_test_markov.x permet d'évaluer empiriquement le niveau et la puissance des tests de structure markovienne d'ordre m. En paramètre, on choisir le nombre d'expériences, la ou les partitions, les longueurs et les types (i.i.d., markoviennes, markoviennes mixées) de séquences que l'on veut tester. On peut également faire ces simulations avec la méthode de Bonferroni [2]. Les résultats sont générés au format LaTeX. Les programmes équivalents existent pour la CGR sur le segment (mycgr_segment_test_markov.x) et dans le tétraèdre (mycgr_tetra_test_markov.x).

mycgr_square_vn.x évalue empiriquement le niveau et la puissance du test d'indépendance, en choisissant le nombre d'expériences, les partitions, les longueurs et les types (i.i.d., markoviennes, markoviennes mixées) de séquences que l'on veut tester. Ce programme permet également de faire ces simulations avec la méthode de Bonferroni. Les résultats sont générés au format LaTeX. Les programmes équivalents existent pour la CGR sur le segment (mycgr_segment_vn.x) et dans le tétraèdre (mycgr_tetra_vn.x).

Construction de zones et partitions

mycgr_square_zones.x génère des fichiers de zones ou partitions sur le carré unité. Il peut s'agir de zones correspondant à des mots, ou à des subdivisions régulières ou aléatoires du carré. On peut aussi générer des rectangles et des cercles aléatoires, sachant qu'il est toujours possible, pour faire une partition, d'indiquer l'une des zones comme étant le complémentaire des autres. Enfin, il est également possible de définir une partition en découpant le carré regulièrement ou aléatoirement en une multitude de zones et de les grouper en n ensembles, éventuellement de façon non équiprobable. Les programmes équivalents existent pour la CGR sur le segment (mycgr_segment_zones.x) et dans le tétraèdre (mycgr_tetra_zones.x).

Utilisation cohérente, convention de nommage

Du fait des nombreuses expériences menées sur différentes tailles de séquences avec différentes zones et différentes méthodes de calcul des distances, des conventions de nommage des fichiers sont devenues nécessaires. Tous les fichiers sont donc placés dans une arborescence de répertoires dont la racine (meta_root) est un paramètre de compilation. On organise alors les fichiers de la manière suivante:
meta_root/sequences contient les séquences originales.
meta_root/size contient les séquences de taille size isolées à partir des séquences originales.
meta_root/cache contient les fichiers de cache.
meta_root/zones/segment contient les fichiers de partitions sur le segment.
meta_root/zones/square contient les fichiers de partitions dans le carré.
meta_root/zones/tetra contient les fichiers de partitions dans le tétraèdre.
meta_root/results/size/dists contient les fichiers de résultats de calculs de distances avec des séquences de la taille size. Dans ce répertoire, les noms des fichiers suivent également une convention de nommage pour indiquer la méthode de calcul de distance utilisée, le fichier de partition utilisé, si le complément inversé a été ajouté aux séquences, et si la CGR était sur le segment, le carré ou le tétraèdre.

Le programme mycgr_meta.x permet de lancer les autres programmes de MyCGR en ajoutant les options et les noms de fichiers nécessaires pour respecter les conventions de nommage. Cela simplifie les commandes à lancer pour utiliser les programmes et ranger les résultats aux bons endroits.

mycgr.x offre une interface graphique donnant accès aux principales fonctionnalités des autres outils, tout en respectant lui-aussi les conventions de nommage des fichiers:

  • gestion des séquences originales et extraction de séquences plus petites pour les utiliser dans les simulations,
  • affichage de la CGR sur le carré pour une séquence sélectionnée, ou un fichier de partition donné; on peut également superposer les deux représentations et ainsi visualiser la fréquence des points dans les zones d'une partition. L'utilisateur peut sauvegarder le résultat dans un fichier image,
  • gestion des fichiers de zones définis pour le segment, le carré, le tétraèdre,
  • parcours des résultats déjà obtenus et affichage des fichiers par l'outil correspondant (qui peut être paramétré),
  • lancement du calcul des distances entre espèces, pour une longueur de séquence donnée et autres paramètres.

Cliquer sur les images pour voir les captures d'écran de mycgr.x:

MyCGR screenshotMyCGR screenshot
[1] C'est notamment le format en entrée du programme NJPLOT utilisé pour dessiner les arbres non enracinés.
[2] Y. Baraud, S. Huet, et B. Laurent. Adaptive tests of linear hypotheses by model selection. Ann. Statist., 31(1) :225251, 2003. ISSN 0090-5364.C