First steps

This page guides the first steps of the user of MyCGR.

We call meta_root the directory containing the files following the naming convention. We suppose that the directory containing the programs mycgr[...].x is in the PATH environment variable of the user, so that he can launch them directly without having to indicate this directory.

Sequences

A sequence is represented by a succession of ASCII characters. Blanks (white spaces, carriage return, new line, tabulation) are ignored. The following characters are accepted:

  • a, A or 1 for adenine,
  • c, C or 2 for cytosine,
  • g, G or 3 for guanine,
  • t, T or 4 for thymine.

Other characters cause an error.

For the moment, the internal representation of the sequences is an array of integers. This can be a problem if we must load a whole sequence bigger than the maximum size allowed for an array of integers in OCaml (a little more than 4.000.000 on a 32 bits architecture). It is sufficient for our applications, except in some cases (for example the generation of sequences to build the CGR-trees) where another representation with larger but slower arrays was developed (using the Bigarray module of the OCaml standard library).

The sequences handled are either retrieved from the databases of sequenced genomes then put in the format indicated above, or generated according to a given law.

The tool mycgr_seq.x is used to manipulate files of sequences. Here are some examples.

The command below generates an i.i.d. sequence of length 10000 and of law (pA,pC,pG,pT)=(0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4); the sequence is stored in the file file.seq instead of being printed in the standard output (the screen):

mycgr_seq.x --iid 10000 --probs 0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4 -o file.seq

To generate a markovian sequence or order 1 and of transition matrix (pAA,pAC,pAG,pAT,pCA,pCC,pCG,pCT,pGA,pGC,pGG,pGT,pTA,pTC,pTG,pTT)= (0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4,0.12,0.28,0.3,0.3,0.15,0.35,0.1,0.4,0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4), we would rather do:

mycgr_seq.x --markov 1,10000 \
  --mprobs 0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4,0.12,0.28,0.3,0.3,0.15,0.35,0.1,0.4,0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4 -o file.seq

We can also generate a sequence with a random law, for example a markovian sequence of order 2:

mycgr_seq.x --markov 2,10000 --random-probs -o file.seq

It is also easy to generate N sequences in a row in distinct files with a given prefix, here foo. The following command generates 100 files foo_1, foo_2, ..., foo_100, each one containing an i.i.d. sequence of length 5000 with a different random law:

mycgr_seq.x --iid 5000 --random-probs --number foo,100

From empirical frequencies of letters and words in a sequence, we can compute a law as if the sequence was i.i.d. or markovian. The following command generates an i.i.d. sequence with the law (0.35,0.15,0.1,0.4) and gives the sequence in input to a second call to mycgr_seq.x to get the frequencies:

mycgr_seq.x --probs 0.35,0.15,0.1,0.4 --iid 10000 | mycgr_seq.x --get-probs

In the same way, it is possible to get a transition matrix corresponding to a markovian sequence or order 3, once again from an i.i.d sequence:

mycgr_seq.x --probs 0.35,0.15,0.1,0.4 --iid 10000 | mycgr_seq.x --get-mprobs 3

... or using a sequence stored in a file file.seq:

mycgr_seq.x -f file.seq --get-mprobs 3

Another useful functionality is cutting a big sequence in several smaller sequences, for example after having retrieved a long squence from a database on the net, to do some computation on pieces of this sequence. The following command reads the sequence from the file bigseq.seq and cut it in 20 sequence of size 20000, storing them in the files bigseq_part-0.seq, ..., bigseq_part-19.seq:

mycgr_seq.x -f bigseq.seq --isolate bigseq_part,20000,20000 -n 20 -v

The option -v sets the verbose mode on. The parameters of the option --isolate are the prefix of the generated files, the minimal and maximal length of isolated sequences. This can be useful when a retrieved sequence contains invalid characters (for example U to indicate several possibilities for a nucleotide); if we have already found the minimal length when we encounter this character, we generate a file, else we start from zero after the invalid character.

Computing the CGR

In the rest of this guide, we describe the commands corresponding to the Chaos Game Representation in the square. Equivalent commands exist for the CGR on the segment or in the tetrahedron, by replacing square by segment or tetra in the command names.

The coordinates of the points of the CGR in the square for a sequence given in the file file.seq are printed with the following commande:

mycgr_square.x -f file.seq

Please note that the version above reads the whole sequence, compute all coordinates then print them. This can be problematic for big squences (cf. Sequences). The option --stream can be used to compute the coordinates on the fly, i.e. the program reads one nucleotide, compute and print the coordinates of the point, then continue with the next nucleotide. Coordinates are not conserved (except for the previous point, of course).

mycgr_square.x -f file.seq --stream
Drawing the CGR

From coordinates generated by mycgr_square.x, the program mycgr_square_draw.x draws the points of the CGR in the square. So, to create a PostScript file file.ps containing the picture of the CGR in the square for the sequence in the file file.seq, we will do:

mycgr_square.x -f file.seq | mycgr_square_draw.x -o file

Several options of mycgr_square_draw.x allow to change the size of the picture, the font, to display of not the corner coordinates and corner letters, print a view with frequencies by sub-squares, ...

Zones and partitions

To carry out the tests of structure and to calculate the distances between sequences, we use partitions of the square, segment or tetrahedron. A partition is a list of zones, each zone of the partition being a list of simple zones.

The partitions are defined by some text with a specific syntax. A simple zone can be:

  • a rectangle, defined by the coordinates of its bottom-left and top-right corners, in the following way: [(x1,y1);(x2,y2)],
  • a circle, defined by its center and its radius, with the syntax C((x,y),r),
  • the intersection of two simple zones, noted zone1&zone2,
  • a predicate, indicated by the name of a predefined function and an optional sequence. To know if a point satisfies the predicate, we apply the reversed CGR of the sequence on the point and check whether the function applied to the coordinates returns true or false. The predefined function are not documented yet; in particular, they are based on sinus or lines, but we can imagine a lot of other constructions. The syntax is the following: name_of_function(), or name_of_function(sequence). For example: sin1(AC),
  • the complementary of a predicate, as indicated above but with a '-' before, for example: -sin2(CGT).

A partition zone is a list of simple zones separated by commas, on a single line. The zone can be named, by putting this name at the beginning of the line, followed by a column. For example: with Z1:[(0.0,0.0);(0.1,0.2)],C((0.5,0.5),0.4)&[(0.0,0.5);(1.0,1.0)], we define a zone "Z1" composed of two simple zones, the first being a rectangle of coordinates [(0.0,0.0);(0.1,0.2)], and the other the intersection of the circle of center (0.5,0.5) and radius 0.4 and the rectangle [(0.0,0.5);(1.0,1.0)]. A point will be in the zone "Z1" if it belongs to any of the two simple zones composing "Z1" (so the comma between two simple zones is the union of these simple zones).

At last, a partition is a list of partition zones, each one on a different line. The user must be sure that these zones form a partition (no overlapping, in particular). Indeed, the methods of tests and distances used are defined for partitions. The user can add an "empty" zone of the form name: (with no simple zone) to indicate that this partition zone is the complementary of the others. Only one complementary zone is accepted by partition.

Example

We create the file example_partition.txt with the following contents:

Z1:[(0.0,0.0);(0.2,0.7)]
Z2:C((0.6,0.5),0.35)
Z3:[(0.1,0.8);(0.3,1.0)]&C((0.1,0.9),0.1)
Z4:

The following command generates an Embedded-PostScript file example.ps containing the picture of this partition in the square. The square has 150 pixels of side, the coordinates of letters and corners are not displayed, and we use 100x100 points to display the zones. The colors of the zones being randomly assigned, the user can launch the command again to get other colors if the result is not satisfying.

echo -n | mycgr_square_draw.x -o example --guess-draw-zones 100 -I example_partition.txt \
  -b 150 --hide-coords --hide-letters --eps
This gives the following image:
Picture of partition
Generating partitions

It is possible to automatically generate zones or partitions, with the program mycgr_square_zones.x. Various options can be used to generate random or regular partitions. For example, this command generates a file random.txt containing a random partition composed of 5x5 zones:

mycgr_square_zones.x --random 5 -o random.txt

Use the option --help of mycgr_square_zones.x to get the list of supported options.

Zones and partitions on the segment and in the tetrahedron

What differs from the square is how simple zones are defined.

On the segment, the simple zones can only be intervals in the form [x1;x2].

For the moment in the tetrahedron, the simple zones can only be smaller tetrahedrons, defined by their four vertices with the following syntax: [(x1,y1,z1);(x2,y2,z2);(x3,y3,z3);(x4,y4,z4)].

Tests of structure

The simulations for the new family of tests introduced in the thesis of Peggy CÚnac are carried out with the programs mycgr_square_vn.x (independence test) and mycgr_square_test_markov.x (markovian dependence test for a given order). Here are some usage examples.

The following command performs the test of independence on 1000 generated i.i.d. sequences with a random law of generation for each one. For these sequences, we compute the statistics of the independence test and we accept or reject each sequence with a quantile corresponding to a level of acceptance of 5%. We carry out these calculations for various sizes of sequences (500,1000,2000,5000 and 10000). At last, we carry out these tests for 3 different partitions which are in the files zones_pearson.txt, zones_square_9_random.txt and zones_square_9_equi.txt. The result is added at the end of the file test.tex.

mycgr_square_vn.x --nb 1000 --lengths 500,1000,2000,5000,10000 --gen-order 0 \
   -I zones_pearson.txt -I zones_square_9_random.txt -I zones_square_9_equi.txt \
   -O test.tex

We can carry out the same test but generating markovian sequences of order 1:

mycgr_square_vn.x --nb 1000 --lengths 500,1000,2000,5000,10000 --gen-order 1 \
   -I zones_pearson.txt -I zones_square_9_random.txt -I zones_square_9_equi.txt \
   -O test.tex

The contents of the file test.tex can be included in a LaTeX document and compiled. We obtain results in this form.

To carry out the test of markovian structure of a given order, we use in a smiliar way the program mycgr_square_test_markov.x. For example, to test if sequences are markovian of order 1 by generating markovian sequences of order 1:

mycgr_square_test_markov.x --order 1 --nb 1000 --lengths 500,1000,2000,5000 \
   --gen-order 1 \
   -I zones_pearson.txt -I zones_square_9_random.txt -I zones_square_9_equi.txt \
   -O test.tex

One last example, generating mixed markovian sequences:

mycgr_square_test_markov.x --order 1 --nb 1000 --lengths 500,1000,2000,5000 \
   --mixed-markov 1,3 \
   -I zones_pearson.txt -I zones_square_9_random.txt -I zones_square_9_equi.txt \
   -O test.tex
Higher level programs

mycgr_meta.x and mycgr.x are "higher-level" programs because they given access to the functionalities of the other programs in a simplified way and respect the naming convention of files and directories.

During the compilation of MyCGR, the default directory meta_root was set. We can indicate another one at runtime through the environment variable MYCGR_META_ROOT.

The first thing to do before using the two tools above is to create the directory tree under meta_root. This is achieved with the following command:

mycgr_meta.x --build-root -v

The directories created are printed. Then it is possible to put in the directory meta_root/sequences files containing sequences retrieved from genome banks. Only the files with the extension .seq are considered as sequences in this directory. Once it is done, we can cut these sequences in smaller sequences to use them to compute distances between species (cf. Taxonomy). The following command cuts "original" sequences in sequences of 100000 nucleotides, and creates only 5 sub-sequences for each original file (-v sets the verbose mode on):

mycgr_meta.x --add-size 100000,5 -v

Using the graphical interface of mycgr.x is easier and allows to browse the directories under meta_root. This program requires a MySQL database to store some information to manipulate CGR-trees (cf. Chapter 3 of the thesis). By default, the database that mycgr.x connects to is mycgr on localhost, with the user login as database user name. Ths options -d, -h and -u can be used to specify a different database name, machine or user. To create the database mydb and be able to access it as user myuser from the machine localhost, we must connect to the MySQL database as administator and enter the following commands:

create database mydb;
grant all privileges on mydb.* to myuser@localhost;

Please consult the MySQL documentation for details.

Once the database is set up, we must create the required tables:

mycgr_meta.x --create-db [-h ...] [-u ...] [-d ...]

Then, we can launch mycgr.x to use the graphical interface and manipulate the sequences, zones, results and CGR-trees. Let's see how to create taxonomy trees in next section.

Taxonomy

We will create a taxonomy tree of species from sequences available in meta_root/sequences.

The names of the files containing original sequences are important, because they are used when cutting these sequences in smaller ones (we append -n with n being a number assigned while cutting sequences). Then while grouping by species the distances between sequences, we use the filename to know what sequences are parts of the same species. From a filename, the species name if retrieved in the following way: We look in the name for the first character which is not a letter or '-' and we isolate the part before (minus the final '-') to use as the species name. For example, from the filenames Euk-mae-homsa1-0.seq and Bac-p-braj-0.seq, the species names are respectively Euk-mae-homsa and Bac-p-braj.

We start by cutting the original sequences available in meta_root/sequences to create 5 sequences of length 100000 from each original file. To do so, we use the menu Sequences/Add size and we enter 100000 as length and 5 as maximum number of files create from each original sequence.

Then, we must define a partition of the square, if we want to compute the distances with the CGR on the square. To be completed for the creation of zones from the interface. By now, files must be added by hand in the correct directory.

Now we can launch the computation with the menu Dists/Cenac dists. In the dialog box which appears, we indicate

  • the length of sequences to use (the one we just added, for example),
  • the CGR method (here it is the square),
  • the partition file,
  • whether we want to add to sequences, during the computation, their reversed complementary,
  • the method of distance computation, for example AbsRn.

Now we validate and wait. When the computation is done, the results are available in the "Results" tab, in the chosen length. A double-click on a result file opens it in the appropriate application. Please note that we may need to use the menu "View/Refresh" to display the last results files created.

Premiers pas

Cette page guide les premiers pas de l'utilisateur de MyCGR.

On appelle meta_root le répertoire dans lequel sont stockés les fichiers suivant les conventions de nommage. On suppose que le répertoire dans lequel se trouvent les programmes mycgr[...].x est dans la variable PATH de l'utilisateur, de façon à pouvoir les lancer directement d'après leur nom, sans avoir à préciser ce répertoire.

Séquences

Une séquence est représentée par une suite de caractères ascii. Les blancs (espaces, retour chariot, nouvelle ligne, tabulation) sont ignorés. Les caractères suivants sont acceptés:

  • a, A ou 1 pour l'adénine,
  • c, C ou 2 pour la cytosine,
  • g, G ou 3 pour la guanine,
  • t, T ou 4 pour la thymine.

Les autres caractères provoquent une erreur.

Pour l'instant, la représentation interne des séquences est un tableau d'entiers. Cela peut poser problème si on doit charger en entier une séquence de taille supérieure à la taille maximale des tableaux d'entiers en OCaml (un peu plus de 4.000.000 sur une architecture 32 bits). C'est suffisant pour nos applications, sauf dans certains cas (par exemple la génération de séquences pour construire les arbres-CGR) où une autre représentation avec des tableaux plus grands mais plus lents a été développée (en utilisant le module Bigarray de la bibliothèque standard d'OCaml).

Les séquences manipulées sont soit des séquences récupérées dans les bases de génomes séquencés puis mise au format indiqué ci-dessus, soit des séquences générées d'après une loi donnée.

L'outil mycgr_seq.x permet de manipuler des fichiers de séquences. Voici quelques exemples.

La commande suivante génère une séquence i.i.d. de longueur 10000 et de loi (pA,pC,pG,pT)=(0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4); la séquence est stockée dans le fichier file.seq au lieu d'être affichée à l'écran:

mycgr_seq.x --iid 10000 --probs 0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4 -o file.seq

Pour générer une séquence markovienne d'ordre 1 et de matrice de transition (pAA,pAC,pAG,pAT,pCA,pCC,pCG,pCT,pGA,pGC,pGG,pGT,pTA,pTC,pTG,pTT)= (0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4,0.12,0.28,0.3,0.3,0.15,0.35,0.1,0.4,0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4), on fera plutôt:

mycgr_seq.x --markov 1,10000 \
  --mprobs 0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4,0.12,0.28,0.3,0.3,0.15,0.35,0.1,0.4,0.1,0.2,0.3,0.4 -o file.seq

On peut également générer une séquence avec une loi aléatoire, par exemple ici, une séquence markovienne d'ordre 2:

mycgr_seq.x --markov 2,10000 --random-probs -o file.seq

Il n'est guère plus difficile de générer N séquences d'un coup, dans des fichiers distincts dont on donne le préfixe, ici foo. La commande suivante génère 100 fichiers foo_1, foo_2, ..., foo_100, contenant chacun une séquence i.i.d. de longueur 5000 et avec une loi aléatoire pour chacune:

mycgr_seq.x --iid 5000 --random-probs --number foo,100

Il est également possible, à partir des fréquences empiriques des lettres et mots dans une séquences, de calculer une loi pour voir la séquence comme étant i.i.d. ou markovienne. La commande suivante génère une séquence i.i.d. avec une loi de (0.35,0.15,0.1,0.4) et fournit la séquence en entrée d'un deuxième appel à mycgr_seq.x pour en obtenir les fréquences:

mycgr_seq.x --probs 0.35,0.15,0.1,0.4 --iid 10000 | mycgr_seq.x --get-probs

De même, on peut obtenir les probabilités d'une matrice de transition correspondant à une séquence markovienne d'ordre 3, en partant encore d'une séquence i.i.d.:

mycgr_seq.x --probs 0.35,0.15,0.1,0.4 --iid 10000 | mycgr_seq.x --get-mprobs 3

... ou en utilisant la séquence contenue dans un fichier file.seq:

mycgr_seq.x -f file.seq --get-mprobs 3

Une autre fonction utile est le découpage d'une grosse séquence en plusieurs petites, par exemple après avoir récupéré une longue séquence, pour effectuer des calculs sur des morceaux de cette séquence. La commande suivante prend la séquence contenue dans le fichier bigseq.seq et découpe celle-ci en 20 séquences de taille 20000, en les stockant dans les fichiers bigseq_part-0.seq, ..., bigseq_part-19.seq:

mycgr_seq.x -f bigseq.seq --isolate bigseq_part,20000,20000 -n 20 -v

L'option -v demande le mode verbeux. Les paramètres de l'option --isolate sont le préfixe des fichiers générés, la longueur minimale et la longueur maximale des séquences isolées. Cela peut être utile lorsqu'une séquence récupérée comporte des caractères incorrects (par exemple U pour indiquer plusieurs possibilités pour ce nucléotide); si on a déjà trouvé la longueur minimale demandée lorsqu'on rencontre ce caractère, on génère un fichier, sinon on recommence à 0 après le caractère incorrect.

Calcul de la CGR

Dans tout le reste de ce guide, nous détaillons les commandes correspondant à la Chaos Game Representation dans le carré. Des commandes équivalentes existent pour la CGR sur le segment et dans le tétraèdre, en remplaçant square par segment ou tetra dans les noms de commandes.

Les coordonnées des points de la CGR dans le carré pour une séquence donnée dans le fichier file.seq sont affichées par la commande suivante:

mycgr_square.x -f file.seq

A noter, la version ci-dessus lit toute la séquence, calcule toutes les coordonnées puis les affiche. Cela peut poser problème pour de grosses séquences (cf. Séquences). L'option --stream permet d'effectuer le calcul au vol, c'est-à-dire que le programme lit un nucléotide, calcule et affiche les coordonnées du point, puis continue avec le nucléotide suivante. Les coordonnées ne sont pas conservées (sauf le point précédent, bien sûr).

mycgr_square.x -f file.seq --stream
Dessin de la CGR

A partir des coordonnées générées par mycgr_square.x, le programme mycgr_square_draw.x dessine les points de la CGR dans le carré. Ainsi, pour créer un fichier PostScript file.ps contenant le dessin de la CGR dans le carré pour la séquence contenue dans le fichier file.seq, on fera:

mycgr_square.x -f file.seq | mycgr_square_draw.x -o file

Différentes options de mycgr_square_draw.x permettent de changer la taille du dessin, la police, l'affichage ou non des coordonnées, des lettres, d'afficher une vue par fréquences dans des sous-carrés, ...

Zones et partitions

Pour effectuer les tests de structure et calculer les distances entre séquences, on utilise des partitions du carré, du segment ou du tétraèdre. Une partition est une liste de zones, chaque zone de la partition étant une liste de zones simples.

Les partitions sont définies par du texte avec une syntaxe spécifique. Une zone simple peut être:

  • un rectangle, en indiquant les coordonnées des points inférieur gauche et supérieur droit, de la façon suivante: [(x1,y1);(x2,y2)],
  • un cercle, défini par son centre et son rayon, avec la syntaxe C((x,y),r),
  • l'intersection de deux zones simples, notée zone1&zone2,
  • un prédicat, indiqué par le nom d'une fonction prédéfinie, muni éventuellement d'une séquence. Pour savoir si un point vérifie le prédicat, on applique la CGR inverse de la séquence sur ce point et on regarde si la fonction renvoie vrai ou faux. Les fonctions prédéfinies ne sont pas encore documentées; elles sont notamment à base de sinus ou de droites, mais on peut imaginer bien d'autres constructions. La syntaxe est la suivante: name_of_function(), ou name_of_function(sequence). Par exemple: sin1(AC),
  • le complément d'un prédicat, comme indiqué ci-dessus mais avec un '-' devant, par exemple: -sin2(CGT).

Une zone de partition est une liste de zones simples, séparées par des virgules, sur une seule ligne. La zone peut avoir un nom, en mettant ce nom en tête de ligne, suivi de deux points. Par exemple, avec Z1:[(0.0,0.0);(0.1,0.2)],C((0.5,0.5),0.4)&[(0.0,0.5);(1.0,1.0)], on définit une zone "Z1" composée de deux zones simples, l'une étant un rectangle de coordonnées [(0.0,0.0);(0.1,0.2)], l'autre étant l'intersection entre le cercle de centre (0.5,0.5) et de rayon 0.4 et le rectangle [(0.0,0.5);(1.0,1.0)]. Un point sera dans la zone "Z1" s'il appartient à l'une des deux zones simples qui la composent (la virgule signifie donc l'union des zones simples entre lesquelles elle est placée).

Enfin, une partition est une liste de zones de partition, chacune sur une ligne. Il revient à l'utilisateur de s'assurer que ces zones forment bien une partition (pas de chevauchement, notamment). En effet, les méthodes de tests et de distances utilisées sont définies pour des partitions. On pourra au besoin ajouter une zone de partition "vide" de la forme name: (sans zone simple) pour indiquer que cette zone est le complémentaire des autres zones. Une seule zone complémentaire est tolérée par partition.

Exemple

On crée le fichier example_partition.txt avec le contenu suivant:

Z1:[(0.0,0.0);(0.2,0.7)]
Z2:C((0.6,0.5),0.35)
Z3:[(0.1,0.8);(0.3,1.0)]&C((0.1,0.9),0.1)
Z4:

La commande suivante génère un fichier example.ps au format Embedded-PostScript contenant le dessin de cette partition dans le carré. Le carré a 150 pixels de côté, les coordonnées et les lettres des coins ne sont pas affichées, et on utilise 100x100 points pour afficher les zones. Les couleurs des zones étant aléatoires, si le résultat n'est pas satisfaisant, on peut relancer la commande pour obtenir de nouvelles couleurs.

echo -n | mycgr_square_draw.x -o example --guess-draw-zones 100 -I example_partition.txt \
  -b 150 --hide-coords --hide-letters --eps
Cela donne l'image suivante:
Picture of partition
Génération de zones et partitions

Il est également possible de générer automatiquement des zones ou des partitions, grâce au programme mycgr_square_zones.x. Différentes options permettent de générer des partitions aléatoires ou régulières. Par exemple, cette commande génère un fichier random.txt contenant une parition aléatoire composée de 5x5 zones:

mycgr_square_zones.x --random 5 -o random.txt

Utiliser l'option --help de mycgr_square_zones.x pour obtenir la liste des options acceptées.

Zones et partitions dans le segment et le tétraèdre

La différence avec le carré se situe au niveau des zones simples.

Sur le segment, les zones simples ne peuvent être que des intervalles de la forme [x1;x2].

Dans le tétraèdre, les zones simples ne peuvent être pour l'instant que des tétraèdres, définis pas leurs quatre sommets avec la syntaxe suivante: [(x1,y1,z1);(x2,y2,z2);(x3,y3,z3);(x4,y4,z4)].

Tests de structure

Les simulations pour la nouvelle famille de tests introduite dans la thèse de Peggy Cénac sont réalisés à l'aide des programmes mycgr_square_vn.x (test d'indépendance) et mycgr_square_test_markov.x (test de dépendance markovienne d'un ordre donné). Voici quelques exemples d'utilisation.

La commande suivante permet d'effectuer le test d'indépendance sur 1000 séquences i.i.d. générées ayant chacune une loi de génération aléatoire. Pour ces séquences, on calcule la statistique du test d'indépendance et on accepte ou on rejette chaque séquence avec un quantile correspondant à un niveau d'acceptation de 5%. On réalise ces calculs pour des tailles de séquences de 500,1000,2000,5000 et 10000. Enfin, nous réalisons ces tests pour 3 partitions différentes qui se trouvent dans les fichiers zones_pearson.txt, zones_square_9_random.txt et zones_square_9_equi.txt. Le résultat est ajouté à la fin du fichier test.tex.

mycgr_square_vn.x --nb 1000 --lengths 500,1000,2000,5000,10000 --gen-order 0 \
   -I zones_pearson.txt -I zones_square_9_random.txt -I zones_square_9_equi.txt \
   -O test.tex

On peut réaliser le même test mais en générant des séquences markoviennes d'ordre 1:

mycgr_square_vn.x --nb 1000 --lengths 500,1000,2000,5000,10000 --gen-order 1 \
   -I zones_pearson.txt -I zones_square_9_random.txt -I zones_square_9_equi.txt \
   -O test.tex

Le contenu du fichier test.tex peut-être inclus dans un document LaTeX et compilé. On obtient des résultats de cette forme.

Pour réaliser le test de structure markovienne d'un certain ordre, on utilise de façon similaire le programme mycgr_square_test_markov.x. Par exemple, tester si des séquences sont markoviennes d'ordre 1 en générant des séquences markoviennes d'ordre 1:

mycgr_square_test_markov.x --order 1 --nb 1000 --lengths 500,1000,2000,5000 \
   --gen-order 1 \
   -I zones_pearson.txt -I zones_square_9_random.txt -I zones_square_9_equi.txt \
   -O test.tex

Un dernier exemple, en générant des séquences markoviennes mixées:

mycgr_square_test_markov.x --order 1 --nb 1000 --lengths 500,1000,2000,5000 \
   --mixed-markov 1,3 \
   -I zones_pearson.txt -I zones_square_9_random.txt -I zones_square_9_equi.txt \
   -O test.tex
Programmes de haut niveau

mycgr_meta.x et mycgr.x sont des programmes dits "de haut niveau" car ils offrent l'accès aux fonctionnalités des autres programmes de façon simplifiée et en gérant la convention de nommage des fichiers et répertoires.

Lors de la compilation de MyCGR, le répertoire meta_root par défaut a été fixé. On peut en indiquer un autre à l'exécution par l'intermédiaire de la variable d'environnement MYCGR_META_ROOT.

La première chose à faire, avant d'utiliser les deux outils ci-dessus, est de créer l'arborescence sous meta_root. Cela est réalisé par la commande suivante:

mycgr_meta.x --build-root -v

Les répertoires créés sont affichés. Il est alors possible de placer dans le répertoire meta_root/sequences des fichiers de séquences récupérés dans les banques de génomes. Seuls les fichiers ayant l'extension .seq sont considérés comme des séquences dans ce répertoire. Une fois que c'est fait, on peut découper ces séquences en sous-séquences pour les utiliser dans les calculs de distances entre espèces (cf. Taxonomie). La commande suivante permet de découper les séquences "originales" en séquences de 100000 bases, en ne créant que 5 sous-séquences par fichier original (-v est pour le mode verbeux):

mycgr_meta.x --add-size 100000,5 -v

L'utilisation de l'interface graphique mycgr.x est plus aisée et permet de parcourir facilement les répertoires sous meta_root. Ce programme nécessite une base de données MySQL, car il y stocke certaines informations pour la manipulation des arbres-CGR (cf. Chapitre 3 de la thèse). Par défaut, la base de données à laquelle mycgr.x se connecte est mycgr sur localhost, avec comme nom d'utilisateur le login de l'utilisateur. Les options -d, -h et -u permettent de spécifier une base, une machine et un utilisateur. Pour créer la base mydb et pouvoir l'utiliser avec l'utilisateur myuser depuis la machine localhost, il faut se connecter en tant qu'administrateur à MySQL et entrer les commandes suivantes:

create database mydb;
grant all privileges on mydb.* to myuser@localhost;

Consulter la documentation de MySQL pour plus de détails.

Une fois que la base est configurée, il faut l'initialiser en créant les tables:

mycgr_meta.x --create-db [-h ...] [-u ...] [-d ...]

Ensuite, on peut lancer mycgr.x pour accéder à l'interface graphique, par laquelle on peut manipuler les séquences, les zones, les résultats et les arbres-CGR. Voyons son utilisation pour réaliser des arbres taxonomiques, dans la section suivante.

Taxonomie

Nous allons créer un arbre taxonomique d'espèces à partir des séquences disponibles dans meta_root/sequences.

Les noms de fichiers des séquences originales sont importants, car ils sont repris lors du découpage des séquences (on leur ajoute -n avec n un numéro affecté lors du découpage des séquences). Par la suite, lors du regroupement par espèce des distances entre séquences, on se base sur le nom du fichier pour savoir quelles séquences font partie de la même espèce. A partir d'un nom de fichier, le nom de l'espèce est récupéré de la manière suivante: On cherche dans le nom le premier caractère qui ne soit pas une lettre ou un '-' et on isole la partie qui précède (privée éventuellement du '-' final) pour s'en servir comme nom d'espèce. Par exemple, à partir des fichiers Euk-mae-homsa1-0.seq et Bac-p-braj-0.seq, les noms d'espèces isolés sont respectivement Euk-mae-homsa et Bac-p-braj.

On commence par découper les séquences originales disponibles dans meta_root/sequences pour créer 5 séquences de taille 100000 par fichier original. Pour cela, on utilise le menu Sequences/Add size et on saisit 100000 comme longueur et 5 comme nombre maximum de fichiers par séquence originale.

Il faut ensuite définir une partition du carré, si l'on veut faire les calculs de distances avec la CGR sur le carré. A compléter pour la création de zones depuis l'interface. Pour l'instant, les fichiers de zones doivent êtres ajoutés à la main dans le bon répertoire.

Il ne reste plus qu'à lancer les calculs par l'intermédiaire du menu Dists/Cenac dists. Dans la boîte de dialogue qui s'ouvre, on indique

  • la longueur des séquences à utiliser (celle que l'on vient de créer par exemple),
  • la méthode de CGR (le carré),
  • le fichier de partition,
  • si l'on souhaite ajouter aux séquences, lors des calculs, leur complément inversé,
  • la méthode de calcul de distance, par exemple AbsRn.

Il ne reste plus qu'à valider et attendre. Lorsque les calculs sont terminés, les résultats sont visibles dans l'onglet "Results", dans la longueur choisie. Un double-clic sur un fichier de résultat permet de l'afficher. A noter, il faut parfois utiliser le menu "View/Refresh" pour voir s'afficher les fichiers de résultats qui viennent d'être créés.